Dedicated to achieving equity and full participation for women in science, technology, and engineering.

AWIS Networking Lunches

Come have lunch and network with women in STEM fields. All students and faculty are welcome! Look for the yellow AWIS table sign. Lunches are noon-1 in Hatfields, but feel free to come and go as needed.
Tuesday, Sept 2
Monday, Sept 15
Tuesday, Sept 30
Tuesday, Oct 14
Wednesday, Oct 29
Tuesday, Nov 18
Tuesday, Dec 2
Wednesday, Dec 17


AWIS Workshops

Save the dates! As a part of WVU's institutional partnership with AWIS, Cindy Simpson and Donna Dean will be presenting two workshops: Effective Communication and Equitable Solutions for a Retaining a Robust STEM Workforce (based on Donna's new book).  These workshops will be held June 2-3. We will also hold several networking events in conjunction with the workshops.


AWIS-WV Recognized as Star Chapter

The West Virginia Chapter was selected to receive the 2013 Star Chapter Award indicating that they are working toward the 
goals of the AWIS strategic plan. A press release is available at 
http://wvutoday.wvu.edu/n/2013/12/09/west-virginia-chapter-of-association-for-women-in-science-wins-2013-star-chapter-award


AWIS Networking Lunches

Come have lunch and network with women in STEM fields. All students and faculty are welcome! Look for the yellow AWIS table sign. Lunches are noon-1 in Hatfields, but feel free to come and go as needed.
Wed Jan 15
Mon Jan 27
Wed Feb 12
Mon Feb 24
Wed Mar 19
Mon Mar 31
Wed Apr 16
Mon Apr 28
Wed May 14


WVU Renews Institutional Partnership: Graduate Students get Complimentary Membership

WVU renewed its institutional partnership with AWIS in November 2013. A new benefit of this partnership is that WVU graduate students can receive a complimentary membership in AWIS National. Please follow this link to take advantage:
http://www.awis.org/wvu

AWIS Networking Lunches

Come have lunch and network with women in STEM fields. All students and faculty are welcome! Look for the yellow AWIS table sign. Lunches are noon-1, but feel free to come and go as needed.
Monday, August 26th, Hatfield's: Welcome back and Women's Equality Day
Tuesday, September 10th, Hatfield's
Wednesday, September 25th, Hatfield's
Tuesday, October 8th, Evansdale Library Snack Room
Monday, October 21st, Hatfield's
Tuesday, November 5th, Hatfield's
Wednesday, November 20th, Evansdale Library Snack Room
Tuesday, December 3rd, Hatfield's
Monday, December 16th, Hatfield's
Email amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu for more info.

Expanding Your Horizons

Our annual outreach event for middle school girls was held Saturday, April 20th at West Virginia University. Check out photos from the event at our EYH 2013 page.


 

AWIS-WV President wins Buswell Award

Dr. Amy Keesee, President of AWIS-WV, was selected by the WVU Council for Women's Concerns to receive the 2012 Mary Catherine Buswell Award for her service to women at WVU. She was nominated by Dr. Linda Vona-Davis with supporting reference by Dr. Donna Dean. More details about the award can be found at http://www.as.wvu.edu/cwc/Buswell.htm.