About the Charleston Campus

The West Virginia University Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center Charleston Division is a regional campus for three schools–MedicineNursing, and Pharmacy. It was one of the first regional health sciences campus opened by any University in the country, and houses a Central Area Health Education Center of West Virginia, as well as the Poison Center of West Virginia.

Some 100 University faculty and 400 community professionals who serve as clinical faculty provide training and oversight to our students. Each year more than 70 medical students and 150 residents are in Charleston through our partnership with the Charleston Area Medical Center, the first regional medical center in the United States and one of the largest hospital in West Virginia.