Back to News

Three dentists honored by state Pierre Fauchard Academy

One full-time faculty, two part-time faculty at School of Dentistry

The West Virginia Section of the Pierre Fauchard Academy held its annual awards ceremony and dinner on Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at the Erickson Alumni Center on the campus of West Virginia University in Morgantown, W.Va.

The Pierre Fauchard Academy explains the organization as:

The Pierre Fauchard Academy was organized in 1936.
The Academy is named after Pierre Fauchard of France (1678-1761), who is recognized as the "Father of Modern Dentistry" for raising dentistry to a profession.
 The membership is made of dentists who are among the most outstanding leaders in various fields of dentistry. Fellowship is by invitation only and must have the approval of the Section in which the candidate resides or practices.

Dr. Ghabi Kaspo, Pierre Fauchard Academy District 4 Trustee, traveled from Michigan to attend WVU School of Dentistry’s local section event. Kaspo’s visit marked just the second time in the history a national Pierre Fauchard Academy officer has attended the Morgantown ceremony.

Two new fellows, Dr. Vincent Veltri and Dr. Michael Hazey, were installed into the academy. Veltri is from Clarksburg, W.Va. and has served as president of the Harrison County and Monongahela Valley Dental Society. He is currently on the West Virginia Board of Dentistry. Veltri has also served on the board of the West Virginia Dental Association.

Hazey is from Bridgeport, W.Va. and is also a past president of the Harrison County and Monongahela Valley Dental Society. He is currently on the Board of the Southern Association of Orthodontists. Hazey is also a past president of the West Virginia Association of Orthodontists.

Veltri and Hazey are both part-time faculty members at the School of Dentistry and are active with the School of Dentistry Alumni Association.

Dr. Lauren Yura, faculty member at the WVU School of Dentistry, was presented with the special appreciation award because of her extraordinary contributions to both the profession and the WVU School of Dentistry. Dr. Yura is the founding director of the Dr. W. Robert Biddington Center for Dental Innovation and was named as outstanding teacher of the year by the dental school class of 2018.

(l-r) Dr. Michael Hazy, Dr. Vincent Veltri, Dr. Ghabi Kaspo, Dr. Lauren Yura, Dr. Robert Wanker