The WVU Health Sciences Center Women In Science and Health (WISH) Committee recently recognized two faculty members – Elizabeth J. Scharman, Pharm.D., and Lesley E. Cottrell, Ph.D. – for outstanding achievements.

Dr. Scharman has received the 2015 WVU HSC Women in Science and Health Advanced Career Excellence Award, while Dr. Cottrell has earned the 2015 WVU HSC Women in Science and Health Mid-Career Excellence Award. These honors recognize career achievements of women HSC faculty and staff who demonstrate excellence in education, leadership, diversity, scholarship, service to West Virginia and research.

Scharman is a tenured professor in the WVU School of Pharmacy Department of Clinical Pharmacy. She received her Pharm.D. from Virginia Commonwealth University (Medical College of Virginia) and completed a clinical toxicology fellowship at the Pittsburgh Poison Center/University of Pittsburgh. Scharman is also director of the West Virginia Poison Center, a position she has held since July 1992. Her national reputation increased following the hazardous chemical leak into the southern West Virginia water supply in 2014. Scharman also serves as the deputy strategic national stockpile coordinator for West Virginia, and she is involved in disaster-related projects and training throughout West Virginia. Her research focus involves evidence-based evaluations of clinical toxicology practice.

Cottrell is associate professor and vice chair for research in the WVU School of Medicine Department of Pediatrics. She is also co-director of the WVU School of Public Health’s Prevention Research Center. She completed her master’s degree in child clinical psychology and her Ph.D. in developmental psychology from WVU. Cottrell currently serves as principal investigator for the National Children’s Study location in Marion County and has ongoing funded research for the CARDIAC Project. Her research activities examine parental influences on child and adolescent health. Her own research has produced a comprehensive parental monitoring inventory and a parent-adolescent monitoring program.

A reception to honor both awardees will be held at 3 p.m. Friday, Oct. 23, in the Pylons Lobby of the Health Sciences Center.