Three graduates of Morgantown High School are the recipients of the 2016 WVU Medicine Leadership Scholarship.

Each award winner earned a one-time $1,000 scholarship for use at any college or university. This annual program is open to children of current, non-faculty employees at WVU Medicine-WVU Hospitals.

The winners are:

  • Abigail Snitz, daughter of Crystal and Phil Snitz. Abigail plans to attend West Virginia University and study occupational therapy.
  • Alexa Jade Harris, daughter of Aimee and James Harris. Alexa plans to attend WVU and major in public health.
  • Amy Pei, daughter of Ming Pei and Xiulian Hang. Amy plans to attend Johns Hopkins University and study biology.

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to demonstrate leadership in school and/or community activities, quality performance in extracurricular and volunteer programs and high academic performance. They also had to submit an essay detailing an important leadership experience.

Albert L. Wright, Jr., President and CEO, WVU Medicine-WVU Hospitals, and COO, WVU Medicine, poses with 2016 WVU Medicine Leadership Scholarship winners, from left to right, Alexa Jade Harris, Abigail Snitz, and Amy Pei.