MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University School of Medicine Dean Arthur J. Ross, III, M.D., M.B.A., has announced two significant changes in the School – an entire new department within the School and a new chair for the Department of Family Medicine.

As of July 1, the Department of Medical Education will become the newest department in the WVU School of Medicine. Norman Ferrari, M.D., will serve as the department’s founding chair. With his new role, he will also become the medical school’s vice dean of education.

The department’s goals are to promote excellence in teaching while facilitating educational scholarship across all School of Medicine programs.

“Elevating this function to the level of a department reflects the commitment of the School of Medicine and fulfills the School’s educational mission along the entire continuum, including undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education and continuing medical education for practicing physicians,” Dr. Ross said.

The structure of the new department will be built upon four divisions: undergraduate medical education, graduate medical education, continuing medical education and certificate and graduate studies. In addition, Ross noted that the creation of the new department will not increase the School of Medicine’s administrative costs.

“In fact, we anticipate that it will provide opportunities for both cost savings as well as the generation of new revenues,” he said.

Dr. Ferrari joined the WVU School of Medicine faculty in 1986. He has been a member of the School’s administrative team for nearly 13 years, serving as associate dean for student services and academic progress, interim dean for medicine and associate vice president for the Charleston division. In 2006, Ferrari was named senior associate dean for medical education. He will continue to serve as the School’s designated institutional official for graduate medical education.

In addition to chairing the Department of Medical Education, Ferrari will also serve the School of Medicine as vice dean of education. Other founding members of the department will be Scott Cottrell, Ed.D., associate dean for student services and curriculum; Hannah Hazard, M.D., assistant dean for admissions; James Shumway, Ph.D., associate dean for medical education; John Worth, senior associate dean and chief administrative officer; and Jacquelyn Core, J.D., Ph.D., deputy general counsel.

Also accepting a new appointment will be Dana E. King, M.D., who will join the WVU School of Medicine faculty as chair of the Department of Family Medicine on July 1. Current department Chair James Arbogast, M.D., one of WVU’s most accomplished and respected physicians and teachers, is leaving his leadership post after decades of service to the school.

“I am thrilled and delighted that Dr. King has accepted our offer to join us,” said Ross. “A seasoned administrator, funded National Institutes of Health researcher and honored teacher, I know that he will bring much to the Department, our School and WVU. A native son of West Virginia, he will serve the good people of our great State with honor and a deep-seated commitment to help us keep our solemn promise to them that we will improve their health and wellness.”

A native of Charleston, W.Va., King currently serves as vice chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, S.C., where he is a professor in the department’s research division. In addition to his medical degree from the University of Kentucky, Dr. King most recently earned his Master of Science in clinical research at the Medical University of South Carolina.
For more information: Amy Johns, Director of Public Affairs, 304-293-7087
lal: 04-25-12