MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Arthur J. Ross, III, M.D., M.B.A., dean of the West Virginia University School of Medicine, presented the 12th annual Dean’s Awards for Excellence on Tuesday night in the WVU Health Sciences Center’s Okey Patteson Auditorium.

The awards recognize individuals who have contributed significantly to the school in the areas of clinical service, research, educational innovations, community service and service to the school. The event also includes the Distinguished Teacher Awards.

“The large number of individuals nominated for each of these awards reflects our good fortune in having so many people working hard every day to excel in helping us to achieve our mission.  We are very grateful to each of them for their dedicated efforts,” Dean Ross said. “As for the awardees, there is no greater honor than that of peer or student recognition, and I hope that each of them will feel a deep sense of gratification over their accomplishment. I know our entire School of Medicine community joins me in expressing our sincere thanks to each of them.”
This year’s Awards for Excellence winners are:

Award for Excellence in Clinical Service

Alison Wilson, M.D., chief of the Section of Trauma and Critical Care Surgery in the Department of Surgery

Award for Excellence in Education

Ralph R. Utzman, Ph.D., associate professor and academic coordinator for clinical education in the Department of Physical Therapy

Award for Excellence in Research

Visvanathan Ramamurthy, Ph.D., assistant professor in the departments of Ophthalmology and Biochemistry and the Center for Neuroscience

Award for Excellence in Service to the Community

Bonnie’s Bus team

Award for Excellence in Service to the School

Michael D. Schaller, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Biochemistry

Valerie K. Lemasters, grant processing director for the Office of Research and Graduate Education

Award for Dedication to the Profession of Medicine

James G. Arbogast, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine

Distinguished Teacher Award winners include:

Professional Programs Degree – Junior Level

Teresa “Tracy” Rice, P.T., M.P.H., assistant professor in the Department of Physical Therapy

M.D. Degree Program – Senior Level

Mary J. Wimmer, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Biochemistry

M.D. Degree Program – Junior Level

Susanne Choby, M.D., assistant professor and associate director of the residency program in the Department of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

For more information: Angela Jones, News Service Coordinator, 304-293-7087
asj: 03-23-12